Phi Alpha Theta Holds Member Induction

From left to right: Jennavieve VanGalder ’24, Carolyn Phillips ’25, Jessa Barton ’25, and Morgan Richardson ’25.

The Elmira College Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society inducted four students on February 15.

The following students were inducted:

  • Morgan Richardson ’25

  • Carolyn Phillips ’25

  • Jessa Barton ’25

  • Jennavieve VanGalder ’24

Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society whose mission is threefold: to further the study of history by supporting historical research and publications, to recognize and nurture students who have excelled in the discipline of history, and to promote the exchange of ideas and research about history between teachers and students.

"At a time when a thoughtful engagement with history is as important as ever, we are fortunate to have such fine students of the discipline at Elmira College," said Dr. Charles Mitchell, Professor of American Studies. "I am pleased that we had the opportunity to honor their achievements through induction into Phi Alpha Theta and look forward to continuing to work with them in the coming months and years. After all, history never stops happening."

Historian Dr. Nels Andrew N. Cleven founded Phi Alpha Theta in 1921 at the University of Arkansas. Its members include undergraduate and graduate students, as well as professors of history. Phi Alpha Theta has over 400,000 members and 970 chapters nationwide.

Elmira College's Psi Tau Chapter was established in May 1978.

Share This Page