Center for Mark Twain Studies Presents Awards During International Conference

August 17 2017
Category: Twain

Earlier this month, the Elmira College Center for Mark Twain Studies honored two Twain scholars with the Henry Nash Smith and John Tuckey Awards.

The awards were presented as part of the Eighth International Conference on the State of Mark Twain Studies which brought together Twain scholars from across the globe on the Elmira College campus. 

Barbara Snedecor receiving the Henry Nash Award

The Center presented the Henry Nash Smith Award to Dr. Barbara Snedecor (above). The award, given to a Twain scholar who has demonstrated exemplary service to the Center for Mark Twain Studies, was presented to Dr. Snedecor after her eleven-year tenure as the director for the Center. 

Shelley Fisher Fishkin receives the John Tuckey Award

Additionally, the John Tuckey Award, established in 1991 and given every four years in recognition of lifetime achievements and contributions to Mark Twain studies, was presented to Dr. Shelley Fisher Fishkin, an English professor at Stanford University. Dr. Fishkin is the first woman to be presented this award, which honors her more than three-decade career centered on Mark Twain, writing, teaching, and public scholarship.

Read more about Dr. Barbara Snedecor and Dr. Shelley Fisher Fishkin.