Dylan Bellinger, Katelyn Moore Named Athletes of the Year

May 23 2017
Category: Athletics

Athletics Banquet

For the 47th consecutive year, the Elmira College Department of Athletics recognized several student-athletes, athletic teams, and staff members for their outstanding achievements on the field and in the classroom. At the 2016-17 Athletic Awards Reception, members from each of the College's 20 varsity teams, as well as the Sports Medicine Department, received their end-of-year accolades, which culminated with the announcement of baseball senior Dylan Bellinger '17 and cheerleading senior Katelyn Moore '17 as the 2016-17 EC Athletes of the Year.

Athletes of the Year Moore and Bellinger

A three-time Booster Club Player of the Year for the EC baseball team, Bellinger caps off his memorable career with one of the College's highest honors for a student-athlete. This spring, the hard-hitting first baseman received his third consecutive Empire 8 All-Conference Award, one of only two players through the program's first three seasons to be recognized every season by the E8. Over his three seasons with the Soaring Eagles, Bellinger has penciled his name atop nearly every offensive record in the EC baseball program's brief history, as he'll graduate first in hits (148), RBIs (91), runs scored (82), doubles (44), home runs (13), and slugging percentage (.566).

Throughout his senior campaign, Bellinger, an Elmira native who graduated from nearby Thomas A. Edison High School, continued to display the power that allowed him to develop a reputation as one of the most feared batters in the league. Hitting third in the lineup, the 6-foot-3-inch, 225-pound slugger compiled an impressive slash line, batting .360 with a .435 on-base percentage and a .616 slugging percentage, all team highs. Among the league's leaders, Bellinger was third in slugging percentage, tied for third in home runs (6), tied for fourth in doubles (14), and tied for fifth in extra-base hits (20), a true illustration of his strength at the dish.

Elmira's Female Athlete of the Year, Moore, has been an influential member of the EC cheerleading team during her four well-decorated years at EC. She, along with the rest of the Class of 2017, will go down as one of the best classes in the program's illustrious history. In four years donning the Purple and Gold, Moore helped guide the Soaring Eagles to 14 first-place finishes. That includes a pair of gold medals at JAMfest in 2014 and 2015, as well as back-to-back Cheersport National titles in 2015 and 2016. As a senior, her team took the top prize at both the Battle at the Capitol and the East Coast Classic.

After earning gold-paid bids to National Cheerleaders Association (NCA) College Nationals every year of her collegiate career, Moore and the Elmira women placed third at the national event in each of her four years. The NCA also recognized the North Syracuse, New York, native as an All-American during her freshman, junior and senior seasons at its annual camp in August. Moore was voted a Top Gun Stunter in 2016, and was a runner-up for the award as a freshman in 2013.


Scholar-Athletes of the Year Hannah Gaston '17
James Fritsche '18
Chris Konow '18
Team Academic Award Men's Golf
Paul Brand Athletics Staff Award Corey Paluga
Lowman Award Johanna Eidensten '17
Wayne Moschetti Memorial Award Kelcey Crawford '18
Margaret Locke Citizenship Award Megan Fitzgerald '18
Dean William S. Neal – SAAB Sportsmanship Award Baseball
Elmira College Male Athlete of the Year Dylan Bellinger '17
Elmira College Female Athlete of the Year  Katelyn Moore '17
Best Team Moment
Baseball defeating Utica College in the Empire 8 finale to the secure third seed in the E8 Championships.

Best Upset
Women's Basketball beating SUNY Cortland on a last-second layup from Lindsay Heaton '19 to snap a 15-game losing streak against the Red Dragons that dated back to the 1997-98 season.

Best Come-From-Behind Victory
Men's Soccer overcoming a 2-0 deficit in the second half with three unanswered goals to defeat Liberty League finalist Skidmore College on Campus Field.

Resiliency Award
Women's Ice Hockey reaching the ECAC West title game and qualifying for the NCAA Division III Tournament despite several head coaching changes.

Baseball Dylan Bellinger '17
Cheerleading Katelyn Moore '17
Field Hockey Julia Derco '17
Men's Basketball Justin Porrett '19
Men's Cross Country James Fritsche '18
Men's Golf Charl Pretorius '19
Men's Ice Hockey Eddie Nolan '17
Men's Lacrosse Colby Runk '18
Men's Soccer Kurt Bartholomew '18
Men's Tennis Patrick Tracey '18
Men's Volleyball Matthew Buffum '18
Softball Emily Carlin '17
Sports Medicine Elizabeth Martin '17
Women's Basketball Marissa Silverman '17
Women's Cross Country Caitlin Malanowski '20
Women's Golf Audrey Clarke '18
Women's Ice Hockey Kelcey Crawford '18
Women's Lacrosse Lindsay Wargo '17
Women's Soccer Mikayla Gowett '17
Women's Tennis Tilila El Yazidi '20
Women's Volleyball Taylor Kaznowski '19

For full bios of each 2016-17 Booster Club Player of the Year, please click here.