Alpha Sigma Lambda Inducts New Members

May 04 2017
Category: Academics

Alpha Sigma Lambda

The Beta Tau Chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, the National Honor Society for non-traditional undergraduate students, recently welcomed the 2017 initiates at a ceremony held on the Elmira College campus, Friday, April 28. 

Students inducted into the chapter are selected from the top 20% of their class, as measured by academic performance in their major field and in the liberal arts.  The 2017 inductees include:  

Two honorary initiates were also inducted into the Beta Tau Chapter at the ceremony.  Darlene Ike, Executive Director for Meals on Wheels Chemung County, was inducted for her support and dedication to non-traditional students.  Joel Stoker, Professor of Fellowship in Religious Studies, was the second honorary inductee and was presented the Undergraduate Excellence-in-Teaching Award, an award voted upon by the students.

About Alpha Sigma Lambda

Alpha Sigma Lambda is a national honor society for non-traditional undergraduate students who achieve and maintain outstanding scholastic standards and leadership characteristics while also managing the additional responsibilities of work and family.  The founding chapter was established by Dr. Rollin Posey at Northwestern University in 1946 to recognize the accomplishments of those returning to academic pursuits after the close of World War II. Its purpose, he wrote, "is to bind together in one Society the excellent students within the University College in order to provide a stimulus for and recognition of their worthy efforts."  Today there are more than 300 active ASL chapters in the United States.