Academic Honors and Student Recognition Celebration Held

April 06 2017
Category: Academics

Academic Honors

The Academic Honors and Student Recognition Celebration, held Thursday, March 30, in Gibson Theatre, recognized students, administrators, and faculty for exceptional achievement during their time at Elmira College.

Dr. Allyson Graf, Assistant Professor of Psychology, was awarded the Faculty Appreciation Award, which is selected by students, for excellence in the teaching profession, interaction with students, and contribution to the quality of the College. 

Dr. Chuck Lindsay, Provost, was awarded the Administrator of the Year Award, is selected by students and presented to an Elmira College administrator who demonstrates enthusiasm and devotion to the job, the College, and to the growth and development of student individuality and responsibility, which through daily actions during the past year has promoted policies and procedures that have been responsive to the needs of students and for the welfare of the College.

“The Academic Honors and Student Recognition Celebration is an opportunity to recognize the best and brightest students at Elmira College,” said Chris Coons, Vice President of Enrollment Management and the event’s master of ceremonies. “These are some of the most academically-gifted students from the Wonderful Class of 2017 who will be enrolling at the most prestigious graduate schools this fall; students who have already been offered employment with some of the most venerable organizations or corporations; and students who have been instrumental in helping the College complete more than 15,000 hours of community service this year. They are scholar-athletes, talented performing artists, dedicated leaders, individuals of faith, historians, scientists, nurses, and writers. Tonight was about honoring them.”

Following is a list of the prizes and awards presented to students during the celebration:

Freshman Writing Prize: Jacob Weber ’20
Daniel Lipson Prize: Julia Salinero ’18
Mary Lou Parrella ‘65 Prize: Owen Richter ’20
Class of 1927 Prize: Caitlin Malanowski ’20
Class of 2000 Prize: Zachary Williamson ’20
Algernon DeWaters Gorman Prize: Cory Schoonover ’18
Helen Bosworth Beers ‘24 Prize: Hayden Harkins ’18
Helen Hitchcock Bjorvand Drawing Prize: Samantha Berger ’18
Margaret Locke Community Service Prize: Valerie Zamor ’18
Mildred Whittlesey McGraw Attainment Prize: Daniel Gridley ’18

Cowles Honor Scholars

Alissa Abbott ’18  
Rebecca Ackerman ’17
Diandra Alvarado ’17
Maria Andrews ’17
Julia Ashey ’17
Marcus Astesana ’17
Megan  Barney  ’17
Vanessa Bauch ’17
Richard Berkander ’18
Thomas Bragg ’17
Elizabeth Buono ’17
Courtney Burris ’17
Laura Butts ’18
Angela  Cataldo ’17
Brittney Cirinna ’17
Kathryn Collins ’17
Corissa Comfort ’17
Kylie Connell ’17
Brandon Davis ’17
Alicia Day ’17
Brian Demo ’17
Chloe Depew ’17
Nicole Derosia ’17
Alexis Devenpeck ’17
Shannon Dole ’17
Blaithe Donovan ’17
Johanna Eidensten ’17
Melissa Elliott ’16
Kristen Fecteau ’17
Ashley Fredericks ’17
Emma Freedenberg ’18
Hannah Gaston ’18
Michael Ginalski ’17
Michael Girard ’17
Keira Glasheen ’17
Mikayla Gowett ’17
Campbell Grade ’17
Zachary Gretsky ’17
Graham Healy ’17
Kristen Hearn ’17
Huong Hoang ’17
Maureen Hodder ’17

Michaela Johnson ’17
Antionette Jones ’17
Christopher Jones ’17
Sarah Kall ’17
Sarah Kaschalk ’17
John Kenna ’17
Steven Kline ’17
Christopher Konow ’18
Sam Lukason ’17
Diana Lutz ’17
Monica Matt ’17
Laura McCay ’17
Chloe Nowak ’18
Emily Owen ’17
Elizabeth Paolucci ’17
Zachory Park ’17
Elizabeth Patanella ’17
Brandon Payne ’17
Thomas Peckham ’17
Sara Pieniazek ’17
Sarah Pounder ’17
Mary Preston ’17
Caitlyn Pulver ’17
Eleni Riechers ’18
Miranda Satterly ’17
Christian Sawicki ’17
Danielle Slate ’17
McKayla Sluga ’17
Bonnie Smalley ’17
Charlea Smith ’17
Jared Smith ’17
Rebecca Speer ’17
Brianna Stefanczyk ’17
Miranda Stephens ’17
Abby Tourison ’17
Anna Tude ’17
Shannon Voelker ’17
Aya Watanabe  ’17
Hanna  Wilday ’17
Alexandria Woodard ’18
Michaela Wright ’17

Other academic awards and prizes awarded at a previous time include:

Southern Tier Chapter of the NYS Society of Certified Public Accountants: Excellence in Auditing Award: Nicholas Machuga ’18
Wall Street Journal Award:  Michael Girard ’17
CRC Basic Chemistry Prize: Cassandra Snyder ’20
Corning Section American Chemical Society Award: Jacob Weber ’20
Nurse Education Faculty Recognition for Excellence in Nursing: Laura Pantano ’17
Rho Gamma Scholarship Award: Shannon Voelker ’17
The Professional Nurses of the Twin Tiers Award: Brittany Colegrove